Skip to content

New-Clear Meme

July 3, 2010

Greetings,

So much to write about, my little note-pad of possible post-headers is full.

But I keep getting called to remind people about the nuclear anniversary coming upon us, soon.

In recent history (say the last 300-400 years), that date, July 16th 1945 marked a real turning point in our relationship with technology.

Everything started to speed up, all around us. Like all things that grow to a massive size, the initial growth is almost imperceptible.

But pay attention long enough and you start to see a temporal connect. For example, the invention of the printing press and the rise of books/literacy is an easy one.

The invention of the cotton gin and the rise of the industrial revolution is slightly harder.

We live after all in a continuously diminishing echo of the past. Like a stone thrown in a pond, the ripples continue long past the point of impact.

It is the same with events. They are temporal markers and if seminal enough, their ripples continue to impact generations to come.

World War I had been ended with bold cries of “Never Again” and various other such platitudes that are constantly given out to bewildered people at the climax of things such as world devastating wars. And people swallow it and forget it by the time NEVER AGAIN is repeated, a scant 21 years later.

And the nuclear bombs, which supposedly sealed WWII with an exhibition of force heretofore unseen in history, were birthed on 16th July 1945, in New Mexico.

New Mexico, Gulf Of Mexico. Interesting eh?

And if anyone reading this thought I was being a tad over the top with the Nuclear Terror issue, I suggest you look at the role of the Nuke as the cattle-prod of the west, keeping the rest of the world in line.

In a large herd of cattle, only the one’s in the front-line feel the prod. But their panic and pain ripples through the entire herd.

It is the same with war and especially nuclear war. While we (most of us) did not live directly in it’s shadow or fear (actually many generations of Americans and Russians did), it’s energy impacted us all. Oftentimes in the background, but always there.

Meanwhile, our lives sped up and we were pushed into smaller and smaller boxes, literally, figuratively….. space-wise, time-wise, community wise.

In a fractal world, that made perfect sense. If we, as a species, figure we’ve got nuclear power tamed, we should be comfortable with it’s parameters, yes? Or no? Really, ask yourself that question.

Hyperfast time, hypersmall space, fractal folding, extreme compression, mind-bending adhesion.

Now we get to live it out in the open again. Too long, nukes have laboured in the shadows.

They returns as friends. Nukes will save us. Blow in the hole!

I have my doubts and , in my estimation, we are staring our Atlantean moment in it’s face.

What did you feel when you saw the black and white ball of fire?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. D a r i n a permalink
    July 5, 2010 8:51 am

    Again thank YOU for sounding the alarm & ringing the Bell clearly & loudly when we are so out of tune with what’s exploding around us. The transition from Nuclear to NEW Clear is soooo needed and urgent. We DO need major actions on many fronts – individual, collective, global. The threat of Nuclear war and the nuclear pollution from the ‘peace-time nuclear activities’ are still some of the major yet widely underscored issues we face as humanity, on the brink of self-inflicted extinction.

    Luckily there are many that are awakening to the reality and starting to act even small.
    Just bumped into this group on FB with a bunch of like minded people. Many more joining the lines of thoughts, hopefully soon many many more – the lines of action & dramatic change for the better.
    http://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=438537371947&id=560005833&ref=mf

  2. Nadall permalink
    December 24, 2011 1:58 am

    I remember back in the 50’s we used to do drills in school where we all dove under our desks until the ‘all clear’ bell rang. Then we all marched out to the flag into our proper sections and the teacher took a head count and we all headed back in again. Stupid. Pointless. Even as a young child, I figured out that hiding under a desk (claustrophobia!!! Buried alive!!! if not incinerated/obliterated) was about as useless as a nail without a hammering object of some kind (unless you needed a toothpick or something). OH how I detested those drills. Now of course, I realize that people needed to feel some kind of hope, even false, and have some sense of control …. speaking of claustrophobia, they were also building bomb ‘shelters’ (those who could afford it) which was another interesting exercise in futility, since South Florida is nothing but coral rock, flat as can be and IF you could dig down, you would be flooded out. Ahhhh, the wonderful days of yore ….

    • December 26, 2011 2:25 pm

      Bomb shelters….hmmmmm…..really brings up the question to me or survival Vs. Thrival. I’d much rather thrive all along.
      Are you thriving Nadall? How are you doing’/feeling?

  3. Nadall permalink
    December 26, 2011 6:27 pm

    Well … not so much. You bring up the very issue I’m facing now. Hmmmmmm. Apparently too many damns in my rivers at too many important junctures. Sure hate to let the cut/slash, burn, poisoners into the outward expression of me. Ahhh, but that grandson and I have such a love affair. And I know the pain of the loss that he will feel. And I know that I would do what ever I can to spare him that. And I know that it is not in my power to protect him from what life will throw at him. Trauma/drama. Life is filled with it, yes? And I know that on the deep/high level, none of this matters a whit and it’s/we’re all One, but I can’t live in there, only try to visit. And that door seems to have disappeared into the wall. I feel like the angel chained to the rock. One thing I can do from here is love anyway. And I do.

    Sorry about the long, unrelated to this post comment, but you asked. And I will always answer you. 🙂

    • Nadall permalink
      December 26, 2011 9:27 pm

      I almost forgot the “Oh.” And I know too that there comes a time to give back your water to the tribe. Which reminds me of another thing which takes me off to another part of this blog. See ya.

Leave a Reply

