Skip to content

Wisdom for Warriors-7

February 25, 2011

Greetings,

As I gather the collected  vibes of Gurdjieff, Casteneda, Don Juan, Deshimaru-san, Suzuki (DT) and all the other masters I’ve had a chance to get to know, through their writings/teachings and students.. all of them have had one deep under-lying (thus to be under stood) theme, at least the way I saw it.

And what this theme boiled down to, for me, was that we only know as much about the out, as we know our own self. As without, so within.

Over and over. Through all the practices handed to me, I’ve been driven inwards, and finally I saw how that constant inward journey is not a matter of the mind but a matter of the body.

The body is the physical expression of your core and it’s growth into the environmental/cultural womb it is born to. Flesh out the hologram and you have us.

Every layer of cells added can be reached, down all the way to the very core of the matter, so to speak.

Through the body and the body ALONE can you reach in and say hello to your original self, see your original face, before you were born.

The mind cannot be stable in an unstable body. And all these paths I mentioned above through their teachers, all taught Awareness, true, wide awake hyper awareness. And awareness is a perfect example of as with-in so with-out. Remember, awareness flows. It is a two way street. You transmit, you receive, like a bat, only you send out awareness. Like the filaments of Don Juan’s Luminous Egg.

And this fractal body/system we in-habit is all sensory, all sens-ual. So, complete awareness can only come with complete awareness of our “self”.

beyond this is an oxymoron. You can touch in-finity, creation, the flow of Awareness. You become Zero. And in that state, there is no war, no battle, only the constant ebb and flow of energy.

We’ve all had flashes of this state of heightened awareness, usually in states of fear. Cultivate that same ability in a state of calm. If it is possible, you can find it inside you and call it up at will.

Fear is governed at the visceral level by adrenaline. All fear associated symptoms are adrenaline triggered, heart, sweat, bowel control, mind-freeze…

So the key is to find your adrenaline control valve.

You’d be shocked when you find out where it is. And it is the same for all of us.

Dive into your body to dive out of your mind.

Then, next time someone asks you “Are you out of your mind???, you can smile at them and say, “Yes, isn’t that fantastic?”.

😉

 

 

 

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. velobabe permalink
    February 25, 2011 2:58 pm

    liked it ORI, maybe understood. really like the shark and the surfer† that would make my day. or if i was face to face with a cougar.

    • February 25, 2011 3:37 pm

      🙂 I’m liking that peaceful meditator’s place.

      Serinity…

  2. bingaling permalink
    February 25, 2011 3:05 pm

    “You can touch in-finity, creation, the flow of Awareness. You become Zero. And in that state, there is no war, no battle, only the constant ebb and flow of energy.”

    I have touched this once in my life – It is the most beautiful experience I have ever had . If I could replicate it daily I would because all of my “needs would be filled” . In 10 years or more I have tried to replicate that moment in my life and have failed miserably . If you have a shortcut please let me know .

    • February 25, 2011 3:36 pm

      No short-cuts bing, but a nice long cut I can share..

      https://aadivaahan.wordpress.com/2010/06/15/the-first-exercise/
      😉

      And yes, the feeling is in-credible.

      No words really.

  3. February 26, 2011 12:41 am

    “You become Zero. And in that state, there is no war, no battle, only the constant ebb and flow”

    Remarkable co-incident timing, ORI. Would you be so kind as to review this article that I have just written as well? It too, points to Zero. I’m hoping to have it Guest Posted for wider discussion on ZH:

    http://theblissfulignoramus.com/reflections/the-peoples-nwo-every-man-his-own-central-banker/

    • velobabe permalink
      February 26, 2011 5:43 pm

      oh i was just on your blog and read about your new idea. i like it especially ø. i painted circles on my ceramic pieces, i use to make. circle zero all the same, don’t you think? i would help but really don’t know how to write software or good with monetary number systems. i could probably figure it out real fast with the honor system. i like that kind of system, of integrity.

      • February 26, 2011 10:19 pm

        Thanks for giving it thought Velobabe. Much appreciate your feedback.

        “Used” to make ceramics? I’ve long been interested to try this.

  4. enicar333 permalink
    February 27, 2011 2:18 pm

    If you are searching for yourself, that means you lost yourself. In our artifical World of make believe and luxury we are told to indulge and lose yourself in pleasures. Sense of purpose is lost, and emptiness begins.

    I was never more a slave, yet never more free working as a hand on a dairy farm. I came to know the Cows, and they me. It was a symbiotic relationship. We depended upon each other, and they became my life. The routine could not be broken. At 9am and 9pm each day I began my chores. There was no time to sit and ponder, water and feed needed to be distributed, manure cleaned out, barn readied, Cows herded and secured, then milked. My life revolved around the Cows, they were my friends, we were happy to see each other. I slept 2X per day to fit their schedule. I was content.

    When life is a struggle one fights to live. When life is easy, survival is a struggle, and it is reflected in substance abuse, suicide, crime and other destructive events. Soon, World events, political, economic and environmental shall end the easy life. Are you fit to struggle in a New World?

  5. brainer permalink
    March 3, 2011 3:38 am

    I have been chasing that state of calm you mention for years.

    Have also heard it been described as a state of atavism – lost in the moment (of play).

    I seem to have found it in survival situations…but never managed it in normal life

    Love the blog ORI – lots of food for thought and appreciate you giving so much to it. BTW are you a jumper?

    • March 3, 2011 3:28 pm

      Thanks for the appreciation brainer, I really enjoy writing. And I’ve clearly had a lot of time to think about things, eh?
      And survival situations tend to raise awareness. Directly linked to fight or flight. Directly linked to Adrenaline. Worthy of pondering that connection and then working back.

      And no, I’m a figurative jumper, not literally. Would love to try it, don’t trust it here in India is all! 🙂

      • brainer permalink
        March 4, 2011 3:20 am

        sounds like you’ve had a lot of time doing things too, I think you need them both to get close to understanding (just as you need to consider mind and body together).

        should mention I constantly put myself in survival situations in order to reach the feeling…through jumping, martial arts, fast bikes….as I’ve mellowed I’ve realised the fear is all in my imagination, which maybe means the adrenaline switch is too. One interesting side effect is now I am almost immune to affects of adrenaline (either desensitised or exhausted adrenal gland who knows) but can still achieve existence in the moment if the situation is challenging enough….so maybe adrenaline is just a catalyst and not really needed after all…?

        • March 5, 2011 3:21 am

          Actually I have. Thank goodness for that. Experiential learning is essential, ne?

          And yes, you seem to have hit some de-sensitized place with thrill. I used to say this to everyone who did a lot of Amusement park rides in the US or let their kids do the same. It’s desensitizing.

          And adrenaline is a life saver. Get’s us going. Regulating it at rest is the key. It’s what most meditative practice’s are actually all about.

  6. Nadall permalink
    August 7, 2011 5:34 am

    I feel it in my brain .. between my eyes/behind.
    That’s my favorite drawing so far Vivek.

Leave a Reply

