Skip to content

Driving India…CRAZY…

March 5, 2011

Greetings,

Since being spoiled by western roads, traffic and cars, one of the toughest adjustments for me after 12 years abroad was driving in India. And while for most everything else, I can find humor, the traffic part is really difficult.

Now I’m sure many of you have heard about how bad it can be here. If you have not visited, let me tell you, you have no idea. At all. It’s one of those things you have to experience.

So, here is a little snippet of my amazing car (Peugeot 309 ), my excellent, occasional driver Aadam Khan and a railway crossing on the way from Bangalore to Pondicherry, a little french-occupied territory (I say that only half in jest) in the south of India.

Railway crossings bring out the worst in the average Indian driver.

Take a look:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S7Moq1c3TQ8&list=UUzTWv2MUocaqZLm3LHNqK-Q

😉

9 Comments leave one →
  1. velobabe permalink
    March 5, 2011 5:52 pm

    ORI, if that is you, you look BAD ASS†

    • March 5, 2011 6:02 pm

      That is the driver. I’m in the back seat filming. I’ll let Him know. When I was filming, I told him one day I’ll put this on the net and you’ll be famous! 🙂

      • velobabe permalink
        March 6, 2011 3:55 pm

        no not the driver, are you in the SPIRAL video that was uploaded in november? it was very dark and not sure what you were going to do. so i bolted, but you looked bad ass in the shadow. your driver seemed most nice and is probably a bad ass, but it didn’t impress me as such†

        • March 6, 2011 5:03 pm

          Yes Velo, that’s me. Bad ass indeed. 🙂

  2. D a r i n a JOY permalink
    March 5, 2011 6:20 pm

    Vivek,
    I am glad I had the chance to see it live and experience it even as a passenger for I remember VIVIDLY that I felt my life has been saved literally thousands times each day by the driver! Beautiful mess IT IS!
    And incredible example of functioning self-organization among sheer chaos!
    While watching your little video an idea came to me inspired by the street artist JR and it is to make a huge bulletin board above the LA highway showing THAT very jam so that the frustrated, spoiled & angry drivers, stuck in traffic can appreciate WHERE they are vs being in India at that very moment 😉
    Crazy, ah? Are YOU still driving? I LOVE the INNER roads – so much safer & fun! 🙂

    • March 6, 2011 5:53 am

      🙂 Yep, I still drive. It’s that addictive oil/power/control thing!

  3. March 9, 2011 5:18 am

    In India, only noobs use rear-view mirrors. the correct way to drive is to simply watch out for whatever is in front of you. People behind you have to take care of themselves. Watching people drive down the western Express highway, one cannot but admire the skill and discipline involved.
    Our traffic gives an insight into the Indian mind. As much as you may curse people for driving this way, actually if you cut in front of someone, they don’t care either. It is probably the most forgiving traffic in the world.

    Some peoples are machine-oriented. They understand immediately why they have to follow “rules”. Indians are still in the age when to go from A to B, you took the shortest route, and now that they have cars and mobikes, it is still the same. Shortest route wins, and rules are stupid because they just get in the way.

    I personally have noticed that Indian traffic discipline is getting amazingly good, atleast in India. Some subliminal logic is at work and now when the traffic lights don’t work, traffic still manages to flow smoothly. It is quite an amazing demonstration of tolerance, negotiation and just overall coolness.

    I love Indian traffic.

  4. sravani permalink
    August 29, 2014 3:57 am

    its really crazy driving

    • September 8, 2014 3:00 am

      yesss indeed….

Leave a Reply

