Skip to content

On your own but not alone…

March 18, 2011
tags:

Greetings,

Times like this, when cognitive dissonance is at it’s peak, with no one knowing what or who to believe or dis-believe, most people have two strong opposing desires build up.

One is to just get away from it all. Strike out, hide, self-depend. The desire to hoard, to save your immediate family or loved ones. Attachment.

The other is to grasp for community. Safety in numbers. Shared responsibility. Laying down the burden into the collective pile. Detachment.

Perfectly understandable, ne?

As always, balance lies in the middle path.

Understand that in spite of the cultural womb of family and society, we are in the end, solitary way-fareres. We enter as individuated entities (Ego, Id, call it what you might) to experience life-school, take our lessons and our knocks and our beauty and truth and lies and then leave, again into a great un-known. Come in with no-thing and leave with no-thing. All of the attachments dangled before us in the name of “security” are ephemeral. And notice, we are a-apart from them and a-part of them. Very liberating realization.

And then there is all the conditioning, from baby-hood, that makes these relationships and dependencies “real”, inasmuch as anything is real. The mother breast-feeds the body growing around the core she carried. That is real. You can extrapolate from there. A bad interaction with a tree or a sharp knife will injure the body. That is real too. Inasmuch as anything is real.

So the battle from that oldest of points, fight or flight, union or disambiguation…. is real too, inasmuch as anything is real.

The key, to my mind, is to hold both those “realities” in perspective. We live in a world born of a visible duality and an in-visible third, the trinity. There is no re-solution to this in ordinary thinking, with words or deeds or any such mundane creations. Our task, as the Zen masters discovered, is to doubt the duality, fiercely, raising cognitive dissonance to the height of the Everest, till your logical mentation crumbles under the weight of separation and you find whole-ness.

There, you find that you are on your own, but never alone.

When you are alone and not lonely, things gather around you, un-bidden. Ties that set you free.

And that is where you want to be.

Remember, in a furiously spinning top, the center of the spinning axis, the locus of movement, moves hardly at all, at peace amongst all the whirling.

😉

..

.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 1:26 pm

    Words of comfort. I can relate. Thank you for this read to start the weekend.

  2. March 18, 2011 6:45 pm

    Thanks and praise for this beauty filled site. Found you on Zerohedge and I am very glad to have done so. I stumbled by expecting to stay for a few minutes and have remained while hours streamed by. I am better of for having done so. I expect that the magic of my RSS feed will guide me back. Best regards. equipoised.

    • March 19, 2011 4:50 am

      Glad you happened by equpoised. Nice handle. A good place to be, eh?
      nice blog you have too. Such a cool format.
      Do share as you feel called.

  3. March 18, 2011 6:52 pm

    Your writing is evocative and rings so true…much appreciated. Thanks for sharing your soulful musings.

    • March 19, 2011 4:49 am

      🙂

  4. Jan permalink
    March 18, 2011 10:20 pm

    Hi V. So much to share. 56 years of thoughts-experiences-memories, yet infinite. To type them all out in this comment would be…
    So, I share just a few:
    I always sensed, keeping in touch with nature must be the most sensible thing to do. Ignored it from time to time though. About 10 yrs ago I spent/worked a while in the Frence Pyrenees. Lived next to about 500 yrs old beech trees, which I touched… sensed. ‘If they could talk’, a man said to me while I was admiring them. In another conversation the same man advised me that, when going shopping in need of vegetables, never think in advance of what you need. Just go shopping. Look at vegetables – as in sensing – and only then, make your mind up. He was right, now I know. Its not me who chooses, picks or buys. Its nature (and I am part of it) that senses my needs.
    About a month ago I was in need of wheat flour. On my way a passed another shop. I stopped (unplanned) and looked in the window. It appeared to be a gem shop. I became curious and walked in. Admired lots of gems… dejavu’s, but still awesome. The visit ended up in buying one. A little piece of rock, smaller then a grape with a tiny piece of opal in it, an unpolished one, but attractive… somehow. When paying for it, the lady gave me a piece of paper, explaining what the tiny stone entails.
    I quote: ‘ Opal penetrates deeply into subconsciousness, ables to surface latent senses, but also has a strong impact on emotions (…) through the Crown Chakra, opal has an open connection with ones higher consciousness. Therefore it’s a good stone for stimulating your intuition, which enables you to come in to contact with the mystical source.’
    The tiny stone indeed entailed all, and was a re-minder. Unplanned, not on a shoppinglist, just sensing, and… vica versa.
    Today, I took your yesterdays advice V. and hugged a tree… again, sensed it… again. I sensed the shop, it sensed me. I sensed the gem, it sensed me. The shop, the lady, the gem,the piece of paper, the tree… It makes sense to me, it should be common sense. I’m able to sense all, as all is able to sense me… us…
    As you say V. ‘On your own but not alone…’

    Thanks V, and th-us all

  5. March 19, 2011 12:07 am

    “Life is only real, then when I am” You are probably familiar with this expression, the title of “G’s” last Book. Some say it was unfinished, yet I believe the finish is written by the reader. The journey is never conclusive, it is always elusive, ever growing never dwindling. Balance as you say and so well put, is the key to stay the course. Although it is conceivable, that one may have to “tack”, from time to time.

    I agree we are never alone, but we must make effort to stay that way. As for this curious, yet enlightening message, “Come in with no-thing and leave with no-thing” , well put my friend! That which belongs to the earth stays on the earth, consciousness however belongs to those that acquire it, for evermore.

    Thanks for “Being” here, my neighbour of a different kind, I really enjoy the reads.

    Eso

    • March 19, 2011 6:24 am

      Eso, pleasure having you here and I can only be grateful, for I had never imagined that my musings would gather such an eclectic, awesome group of people. Neighbour’s of a different kind. I like that! 🙂

      is the text of Life is only real available on-line? I have no read it? i know the text of B’s Tales to his G is. If you know, do let me know and thanks for sharing.

      • March 19, 2011 10:12 am

        Yes it is my friend, you can reach it here at this url;

        http://www.messagefrommasters.com/Ebooks/Gurdjieff_Ouspensky_Books/Gurdjieff_-_Life_is_Only_Real_When_I_Am_Ebook.pdf

        Enjoy the read

        Eso

      • Vee Wong permalink
        March 21, 2011 3:06 am

        V,

        You are calm and balanced in the center of the axis… Eyes in the storm.

        And I am reading G’s in ESO’s link.

        Thanks for sharing.

        • March 21, 2011 3:26 am

          Awesome Vee, everyone needs a little G-juice in their lives/minds. Never met a passed on soul who still delivered such a reality whack. Well, him and Don Juan of Castaneda fame. 🙂 Is this your first G book? I highly recommend In Search of the Miraculous too.

  6. March 19, 2011 6:20 am

    A thought that came in a silent space today:

    I Don’t Know why no-one is thankful for evil.

    I do know, if not for evil we would never know what is good.

  7. rush that speaks permalink
    March 19, 2011 7:53 pm

    Dear V., my fellow-traveler, greetings. After some months of hanging about quietly, I feel I should make my presence known. And so, hello! Your words speak truth to me, and I thank you for that. Much love to you, my friend. I’ll be around.

    • March 20, 2011 3:38 am

      Rush, good to know and glad to have you “out’ and in the open now.
      No pressure, but look forward to your thoughts in days coming.
      🙂 I feel more and more blessed everyday and in every way.

  8. March 19, 2011 10:49 pm

    Thank you. I am doing much similar work. I would love to get ahold of you or perhaps befriend you on facebook. I have works at http://feeds.feedburner.com/legitamystic , http://www.practoracle.webs.com , http://www.youtube.com/legitamystic , and http://www.facebook.com/gregoryjove

    Wonderful work from what I have seen so far. Thank you.

    -Greg von Haesler

    • Vee Wong permalink
      March 21, 2011 3:08 am

      I am reading from links you provided…Will have to get to the y’tube f’book peices later as I am in a place accessible those NOT.

      Thanks for sharing GvH.

    • March 21, 2011 3:28 am

      Thanks Greg. Pleasure to meet you as well. I am not on any social media (Facebook et. al.), but do well over e-mail. Will read your work (also on dial-up so videos are difficult).
      Please share as you feel called. What are you seeing unfolding?

  9. March 20, 2011 12:00 pm

    Major earthquake predicted for March 19th … maybe Cavuto is just wrong for a few days ..

    http://politicsandfinance.blogspot.com/2011/03/major-california-earthquake-predicted.html

    • Vee Wong permalink
      March 21, 2011 2:32 am

      Time is not linear (not real — or do n’t exist). I would be too linear (rigid) to hold visionaries to a day. ..Particularly we are at the end of the cycle (End of Days!)

      Not defending /supporting anyone…Just saying.

      Thanks for sharing.

  10. Usman permalink
    March 20, 2011 9:52 pm

    Interesting that the oil spill’s back in the headlines. Care to explain for us why? I seem to recall you mentioning that it would return around this time period.

    • Usman permalink
      March 20, 2011 10:58 pm

      Not quite back in the mainstream media.. but there are reports of a new oil slick in the Gulf of Mexico.

      • Vee Wong permalink
        March 21, 2011 3:13 am

        4Get MSM…I’d focus on those that resonate with you…

        Indeed seminal event continues unfolding.

        https://aadivaahan.wordpress.com/2010/06/10/deepwater-horizon/

        Thanks for sharing.

      • March 21, 2011 3:32 am

        Usman, it’s just that time, yes? I’ve seen this time as the end marker of the age of oil and of cheap/free energy. And I know from excellent sources that DWH was a massive cover-up. And that then the time came, it would rear it’s head back up. Just like the Catholic Church issues with sexual abuse also.
        This is a time of great revelation, great unwinding.
        I feel more and more that we will not have this awesome forum for too much longer either, months perhaps?

  11. DW in Tahoe permalink
    March 21, 2011 6:05 pm

    Hi V & All,

    I love the way that your posts are reason-ating with me or really with my higher self, which I believe to be our Cosmic Mind(we are 1/one).

    Obomba was/is a very important lesson for all of us or US and of course that’s why we are on this plane; lessons…

    All of us who ‘get it’ are really needed in our local areas. I have learned that some have major cog dis. but that is starting to be, slowly but surely,
    Transmuted.

    It takes at least 21 focused days to change any habit. Our focus is the power.

    DW in The Tahoe Forest

Leave a Reply

