Skip to content

Back from a little sojourn…

April 8, 2011

Greetings,

Just returned from a little journey to a small city near Bangalore. Met some old friends, made some new ones.

Wanted to share that in my observations, I sense a deepening malaise all around. Even here in India, where most people are blissfully unaware of what is really going on in the world, you can see the pernicious impact of de-velopment hitting people right where it hurts.

In this formerly conservative, spiritual home of the current “Yoga” movement globally, huge bill-boards everywhere. Many of them with half naked women, pushing a life-style, dangling the joys of consumption, sex, the debasement of the feminine. I should have taken pictures. Huge, ugly movie posters with angry young men wielding machetes and guns, fires in the background, half naked girls draped on an arm… the social engineering is so in your face, it’s quite shocking.

But such is the path we are collectively on and seems there is little to stop it. It’s the momentum of a suppressed hunger for the western way suddenly being exposed to the whole smorgasboard, credit card and service-sector job in hand. Who but the most awake can resist? i know I couldn’t when I landed up in Omme Rika at the wise old age of 29. i wanted it all, why shouldn’t this generation. It’s the response I get when I speak to young folks anyways. You went, you tasted it, now it’s our turn.

The fast life. Fascinating.

India is a bullock cart nation suddenly put on steroids. A run-away train like I’ve never seen. I wish I could see a happy ending, but don’t.

My driver for the day, Mahadev, as usual gave me an awesome sound-bite (they always do). We were talking about GOD and he said… sir, GOD cannot stop for even a second. Not even a small second. Because he is the Generator, Overseer, Destroyer. All his work continues all the time. One cycle.

I had a god chuckle on that one. Shiva is clearly dancing his Tandav Nrity, the beat to which all this will dissolve, to arise anew.

I saw the beat of this is the beaten looks on the old peoples faces in Mysore. Till recently it was a retiree town. Many of them shuffled around, wearing nike sneakers under their Sari’s for their morning constitutionals.

Hastily thrown up temples to the god’s of consumption sprouting up everywhere, devoid of any architectural gravitas, just concrete, steel and glass en-closures for the celebration of mammon.

I’ve seen where this road leads…

More soon.

Hope you are all well and finding more balance every day, every minute.

if you are right handed, try writing with your left?

Be well. Be centered.

Know that the shift of the ages is well and truly underway and the only re-mediation at this time is with-in.

..

.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Lolo43 permalink
    April 8, 2011 4:01 pm

    Thank You. Made my day, hopefully going in to a better, more balanced weekend. Very odd week.. Strange days, things happening that I felt were in some way out of my control, but then again some type of Karma.. car breaking down on a very dangerous bridge with my 3 1/2 year old and an elderly gentlemen.Very bad storm, on the middle of the bridge.. Rude behaviour from family member( but wonderful Angels coming to our rescue.. amazing) Yet, the car mess forced me to get out and walk 2 days in a row, pulling my daughter in her wagon.. Good for the soul, but when I looked in to the sky this week, I sensed” ill at ease” for The Universe.. .. feeling more need, as each day goes by, to pray harder and heavier… I am almost to a point of no TV.. this is making me feel so much better.. again, Thank you and look forward to your next post.. Lolo43

    • April 8, 2011 4:38 pm

      You are welcome Lolo and strange days indeed. Something in the air just does not feel right anymore. Here, in india, we are in the midst of a construction boom. People building more houses than available water supplies in a city can support.
      Terminal madness of the end times. I saw it these last two days.
      Less talking is good. More walking is good too. Stay on even keel, nose into the wind. Best way to ride a wave. 🙂
      Thanks for sharing.

  2. April 8, 2011 6:15 pm

    Rudyard kipling said,”East is east and west is west, and never the twain shall meet.” The east is trying go west, but ultimately a little to late to the materialist party. The west, whether consciously or unconciously, is hearing the call of Peggy Lee in this song:

  3. mlbs permalink
    April 8, 2011 6:47 pm

    Welcome back, its always nice to break from our normal schedules every once in a while.

    I had a friend tell me today that rising commodity costs were a good thing for the economy here in the US. I asked him if he thought paying $6 for a gallon of gas would be a good thing (I know this is low compared to the rest of the world, but I think we rely on cheap gas a lot more than anyone else.) It seems like most people believe that the powers that be can do no harm, and they have our best interests at heart. I just hope more people begin feeling this wave of awakening.

    • April 9, 2011 4:15 pm

      Thanks mlbs and it was interesting for me more than relaxing. That break is coming and everyone here will get an invite.
      Keep an eye on this space.
      😉

  4. mktgirl permalink
    April 8, 2011 8:13 pm

    Anadianant,
    I was getting worried about you with no post in 4 days, and right after dissing the Catholic Church! Relieved you are alive and well. I can’t tell you how important and comforting your words and this site are to me. So strange to live in a time where such obviously wrong and crazy things are going on and yet 99% of the people I know are just plodding along like everything is normal, just a little “tough” right now! Makes me wonder at times if I am the crazy one. I am lucky to have one friend that gets it and sites like yours, Anadianant. Thank you so much for what you do.

    • April 9, 2011 4:14 pm

      hey Mktgirl, That is really sweet of you to say and awesome to know.
      This is the kind of community I had hoped to create when I started out on this blogging journey.
      We are going to take it down a notch together soonish. Down is good in my book, to many notch-upping energies abound, eh?
      You are more than welcome because you cannot even imagine how much I have gained through this writing.
      Thanks for being here.

  5. wvally permalink
    April 8, 2011 9:27 pm

    Hi anadianant,

    I have been following your comments on ZH for some time, and have been reading all around your blog the last few months getting to know you.

    I have a question I’d like to ask you about this…http://questforthekingdom.com/…is there a way to private message you? I’m assuming you can see my email address.

  6. Straykitty permalink
    April 9, 2011 12:35 pm

    We share — at our peril, always at our peril.

    No one can truly enter the world of another. Here, on this site, we approach each other, and sometimes we make contact. We stand at another’s door and peer inside. But cautiously, mind you, lest we intrude and be asked to leave.

    Perhaps that is all we can do — approach and leave a small bouquet of flowers, or a vial of water. In this life, so multi-layered and dangerous, we are blessed to have this small opportunity.

    Meeting grounds are too precious be taken lightly. When you were gone, anadianant, we tip-toed in each day to make sure no one was home. We felt sad when we found the room empty. How glad we are to find it once again occupied. We will continue to leave our small gifts in the entrance in the hope that they will be found and appreciated.

    • April 9, 2011 4:11 pm

      *A biggggg Hug*

  7. d2thdr permalink
    April 10, 2011 8:20 pm

    Its almost time up. I feel the same. But it looks like a positive development. Whatever is coming is going to make us all very happy. Of this I am very certain.

  8. Bahaar permalink
    April 11, 2011 10:07 am

    We stepped in a path of evolution towards the confusion or cons of cultural fusions.

    I lost my faith in The Quran because of this verse in which Allah says:”I won’t do any change for a nation who doesn’t do any change for it’s own benefit.” we waited for Mehdai ages and ages and nothing happened. I am scared of this faithlessness, fickleness and inconstancy which is flowing in my nation’s vain like blood.Am afraid of silence and the unknown poly-phobia .I am scared of loveless families,marriages and children who are heading the astrayed path.

    Regards.
    Bahaar.

    P.S.

    There is a lyrics from Gulzar which I really want to translate from Hindi to Parsi and am sure you can help me. It is from my favorite movie Aandhi. could you please tell me the meaning of the words below. I’ve copied the lyric .

    Thanks.

    Is Mod Se Jaate Hain
    Kuchh Sust Qadam Raste Kuchh Tez Qadam Raahe
    Patthar Ki Haveli Ko Shishe Ke Gharaundo Mein
    Tinko Ke Nasheman Tak Is Mod Se Jaate Hain
    Aa…Is Mod Se Jaate Hain

    Aandhi Ki Tarha Ud Kar Ik Raah Guzarti Hai
    Sharmaati Huwi Koyi Qadmo Se Utarti Hai
    In Reshmi Raaho Mein Ik Raah To Woh Hogi
    Tum Tak Jo Pahonchti Hai Is Mod Se Jaati Hai
    Is Mod Se Jaate Hain

    Ik Door Se Aati Hai Paas Aake Palat-Ti Hai
    Ik Raah Akeli Si Ruktii Hai Na Chalti Hai
    Ye Soch Ke Baithhi Hu Ik Raah To Woh Hogi
    Tum Tak Jo Pahonchti Hai Is Mod Se Jaati Hai
    Is Mod Se Jaate Hain
    Kuchh Sust Qadam Raste Kuchh Tez Qadam Raahe
    Patthar Ki Haveli Ko Shishe Ke Gharaundo Mein
    Tinko Ke Nasheman Tak Is Mod Se Jaate Hain
    Aa…Is Mod Se Jaate Hain

    I wonder if I can translate “mod” as crossroad or dilemma in life?

  9. Stephen Baze permalink
    April 11, 2011 4:10 pm

    Bahaar – Kalil Gibran touches on similar issues a long time ago. I am always fascinated that Judaism/Islam?/Christianity all came from the same source and yet have so much animosity these days and for centuries? Abraham did not intend such I think, but it seems we humans cause our own grief.

Leave a Reply

