Skip to content

Sounds of Silence…

April 26, 2011

Hello Darkness my old friend, It’s good to talk to you again….

Greetings,

Not quite that far gone at all really. One of my favourite songs in the day and very telling for this point in my life. You might want to try it.

Speak less but each time you do, speak with force. It’s really quite startling how the world reacts to you. We waste so much breath, the very thing that fans the flame of our existence, in babble. Babble in the office, babble in the house, babble on TV….you get the sound of it right?

And yet, the maturing of the “self”, it’s true finding, happens in deep silence. I’m paraphrasing someone famous here, but it was said, “Truly, enlightenment arises through the sounds of silence”.

And your outer and inner dialouge, both con-sume breath in babble.

The level of white-noise we deal with would make an ancient deaf in a New York Minute if they accidentally landed here.

The journey inwards leads to an inner quietening. You stay silent so you can listen in. You learn to move beyond the heart-beat, the rush of blood, the deafening sound of swallowing…. deeper, till the most prominent sound is a roar of the vortex. And deeper yet…

It really is time to stay in and stay in-wards. Till you have a genuine silence available to you.

When you reach out from that point, you speak with force. Measured, directed. It’s an awesome place to be and cannot be something forced, like a Conversational Diet. It happens with opening the door and taking the first step in-ward. In-gress. Make a dam and create resistance, and River will always be trying to force it down. it’s like that with forced anything… food, breath, speech, needs…

The sounds of silence…

Well worth the journey in…

Find your inner quiet…

😉

Vivek

PS: The work progresses well. Awesome team with me on it. Super feeling…just super… 🙂

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2011 3:51 pm

    Great post as usual! 🙂 It’s amazing to me just how differing our interpretations can be of the same lyrics based on our unique personal perceptual lenses. I, too, liked the song back in the day but my take has changed in the years since. I invite you to investigate the silent sound technology and related patents against the backdrop of the first verse of that tune…….interesting indeed……great fun! 🙂

    • April 27, 2011 4:46 am

      Thanks Ron. And yes, shows how we change, our perceptions change and also how we each have our own, unique filters of perception too.
      Will look up silent sound tech. Is that Bose noise cancelling tech or something more sinister?

  2. Vee Wong permalink
    April 26, 2011 4:24 pm

    Vivek,

    Its been quite vivid…People just explode with emotion with no cause (really?).

    Do we care to know if its full moon, pro-gress of the cycle, or just end-game psyche?

    Lots of excuses (not that I solicit them) about not-knowing WHY (sad!)

    Well, I know. And I have your loving reminds.

    It will be hard trying to find in-balance. But will try harder.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. Liglan permalink
    April 27, 2011 1:37 am

    Another Good Post! It actually reminds me of an old Tao sang I found here.

    http://home.pages.at/onkellotus/TTK/English_Addis_TTK.html

    “Longwinded speech is exhausting. Better to stay centered.”

    • April 27, 2011 4:11 am

      Dao De Ching, dripping wisdom, especially in-between the lines.

      Thanks for the thought and the link.

  4. April 27, 2011 11:07 am

    Good Morning,

    “Hello darkness, my old friend
    I’ve come to talk with you again
    Because a vision softly creeping
    Left its seeds while I was sleeping
    And the vision that was planted in my brain
    Still remains
    Within the sound of silence.
    Sadly, but not unexpectedly, given the fact that this is planet Earth it is more sinister. The patent holder is a fellow named Oliver Lowery, a very interesting guy who I have actually contacted. I nay be way off on this as the tune predates the patent, but if yoiu read these words in a different context, they are creepy! 🙂 Greatr day your way on the other side of the globe! 🙂

    • April 27, 2011 1:07 pm

      Ughh, I thought so. I knew I had the second line wrong too, but could not remember it for the life of me.

      Sounds like M(ardu)K Ultra, Blue Beamy to me now. Technology could have gone in so many directions, eh? We chose down and hard for some (probably good) reason.

      Thanks for sharing.

      • Ronald Johnson permalink
        June 17, 2012 5:42 pm

        I am most interested to hear more of your thoughts on this very prescient issue. Because, although most would never suspect it, this is truly something to be examined closer. Why do you think it’s a probably good reason? What insights do you have? I’ll share mine if you share yours.

        • June 19, 2012 4:24 am

          Ronald, your comment is just a little too vague. My POV on most everything is right here… lot’s of it.

  5. Ronald Johnson permalink
    April 6, 2012 8:33 pm

    Yes, Paul Simon was supposedly in a family with background in the MIC.

Leave a Reply

