Skip to content

My Favourite Artist…

October 30, 2011

Greetings,

The first time I laid eyes on this man’s work, I was hooked. So amazing. His watercolours especially.

And a wander about to a site whose link I’ll share a little later, reminded me of him, thought I’d share it with you….his name was Sawlalram Haldankar (1882-1968).

Here is one:

Painting by Haldankar

The Glow of Hope

 

And then, this:

 

Is that the Ganga?

 

And this: Breathtaking…

Sawalaram Laxman Haldankar - Untitled

Untitled

 

I hope to possess an original by him some day.

And the person whose work drew me there was my friend, fellow blogger and awesome artist…Nina at Art life West.

Her Artwork, for example, this piece:

[hell4badcows.jpg]

Hell for Bad Cows

All Things Must Pass

 

And this, my current personal favourite:

I used to be shining and New

 

Beautiful work Nina. Reminded me of Haldankar, a lot.

Haldankar made me want to be an artist.

Eye gladdening art. Deep in the Artlife West and Deep in the Pastlife East.

Peace…

Vivek

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 30, 2011 5:05 pm

    Many thanks Vivek! To be on the same page as your Deep into Pastlife East, genius Haldankar, is an honor like none other. The people in my household today are awed at the connection you have made.

    Love, nina

    • October 31, 2011 5:28 am

      Nina Haldankar was/is awesome, eh?

      And so is your work. Watercolours are a personal favourite of mine. On the right kind of paper, I like how how the edges spread, depending on how “wet” the mix is.

      Interesting, it just struck me….brush is usually “off”. Brush this off, brush that off.

      In art, it brushes ON! 🙂

  2. October 31, 2011 6:10 pm

    It does what it wants, all we can do it offer guidance, not our own unrestrained guidance from our animal mind/paws, but open ourselves to be a vessel through which guidance flows.

    I love the way your break words down to their essential truth.

    • Ray permalink
      November 1, 2011 2:23 am

      Fabulous Nina !!!

      I too……love the softness of watercolors,

      The “Creatora” gave you quite a Blessing.
      .
      Fortune has little to do with $$$.

      🙂

  3. HLS permalink
    November 3, 2011 12:42 am

    Vivek! Hell for bad cows is fantastic, and a good moment for me (my fav).
    I have a short story I’ve been working on and would be privileged to have you rip the ideas apart. Game? I can think of no one better than you to get feedback about what I’ve attempted to express (in context with the audience that I’m aiming).
    Hook, Line, and Sphincter
    zornmugato
    at
    the notoriously eavesdropping gmail
    dot calm
    (on your approval I will send it as a word doc attachment to any email you provide)

Leave a Reply

