Skip to content

Social Networking and the quantification of emotions…

March 27, 2012

Greetings,

For a long time, I’ve wondered at this mind-less push to social networking. Of course I understand that even this blog is a form of social networking, but I’m referring to the usual suspects…. Facehook, Twitmaker, ohmyspace etc.

And then, a couple of nights ago, it struck me.

One of the primary goals of Social Networking is the quantification of that most decidedly unquantifiable….. thing? Element? Sense?….. emotion.

Emotion has always been expressed qualitatively.

So much. That much. This much. A lot. Not too much. A little. As much as the sky. As big as…. you get the point. In this bi-polar world, quality was always the yard-stick for the un-manifest and quantity for the manifest.

Like. I like this. I like this a lot. I really, really like this.

Now?

I got 15 likes. 28 likes.

Like is a key-word in the English languages. We are driven by likes and our dis-likes. Like/Life/Love…. all keys to our existence as linguistic humans.

In the world of social networking Like is now a quantity and a commodity.

Same with friendship. Friendship is a moving target. It has moods, phases, qualities…

Now it is a binary thing. Friend and De-friend.

This is a medium with a binary base. 1 and 0.  Binary things exist most comfortably in it.

I 13 like you.

😉

Actually this is hardly a laughing matter. It is subtle social engineering at it’s finest.

How do you compare 100 likes by relative strangers to your latest scratch/twit/brick to the slightly unsure smile of your friend sitting right next to you? Who only kind of likes your scratch/twit/brick?

It started a long (in these times) time ago with a web-site called hot or not.

In it, photographs would be uploaded and the audience would come and vote if the person was hotornot.

Hotornot. From faces on hotornot (what a binary name eh?) to Facebook.

Can anyone carry this thesis further with examples in their own lives?

To my mind though, this binary based quantification of emotion is yet another step in the trans-humanism direction….. where we are becoming more machine-like (hah!) while artificial intelligence tries to make machines become more and more human.

Just for today, I’m going to put the like button on this post! 😉

Please like it?

oh, and while you are at it, think of the word NUMBer.

In Truth,

Vivek

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Dick permalink
    March 27, 2012 1:34 pm

    chew on this- I’m banned from zh.

    • March 27, 2012 7:32 pm

      Hmmmmm…..the guy’s thesis is a little far out. What was your Zh handle, why did you get ze ban?

  2. March 27, 2012 2:05 pm

    I tried to resist, but I just couldn’t stop myself from hitting that “like” button.

    Insightful post, as always.

    • March 28, 2012 7:34 am

      That makes me like you Bronson. Like you know…..kind of like….like?

      🙂

  3. March 27, 2012 6:30 pm

    Sorry to say…. We are all machines and have been so, since the beginning of time. Although some of us are trying to awaken (present company included), I can say with honesty, that it takes a lifetime, perhaps more, if one can not be “sly” ….

    Do you have a “twit” account??? ;0))

    • March 27, 2012 7:29 pm

      🙂 Very difficult to deal with the absolute-ness of that pronouncement from G Eso. I resisted the thought mightily.
      And actually I do. I set up one, got a feel of it for 3-4 days and stopped cold. I had a totally neutral experience. @aadivaahan

      • March 27, 2012 8:56 pm

        I had the same experience,,,, then i contemplated the possibilities and found uses that are uniquely inherent to it.

        A “Twit” of a tool for a “Twit” of a guy…

        (“Technology With It’s Talents”)

        If you ever go back, maybe we can “Follow on”…..

    • nadall permalink
      May 7, 2012 6:47 pm

      Absolutely horrifying Eso….my heart goes cold at the thought(s). It has the ring of truth of one of my worst nightmares. Even though I suppose it doesn’t really matter (mind), oh no, please, no. How could a lifetime or two make any difference? I feel like the skin horse in the Velveteen Rabbit. And what happened to him anyway?

  4. photonX permalink
    March 27, 2012 7:22 pm

    Well, since the whole thing is largely a top-down phenomenon, with the apparent ultimate intention of compiling a dossier on everyone for all sorts of dark and intrusive purposes, of course preferences need to be quantified for further analysis.

    “Mindless rush” is exactly right. The foolish and unwise think they’re having fun and expressing themselves, but these arenas are not being provided for their benefit. Please move to the rear of the boxcar, citizen.

    • March 27, 2012 7:31 pm

      FaceBoxx, now there is the next big thing. Faceboxx. The evolution of Facebook in 3D.
      Hmmmm…..

  5. PrixG permalink
    March 28, 2012 7:28 am

    Thank you for this light! Genius.

    • March 30, 2012 4:59 am

      Good to hear it resonated Prix.

      By the way, the last Formula 1 driver I thought was real, not a machine, and a magician…was Senna. I remember, like yesterday, the day he died.

      Welcome and thanks for sharing.

  6. scout permalink
    March 28, 2012 6:33 pm

    Yikes!!! The Singularity is Near http://www.singularity.com/aboutthebook.html

    I am becoming more and more of a mis-fit(have been for a good spell now) as the days move on. The more and more I read Rudolph Steiner, Schauberger, and Fukuoka(my current list) the more I wonder if I have missed the boat or was born at the wrong time,but ultimately this is an important experience so I come to realize the value of a return to Paradise.

    How is it going to be possible to raise a child with a floral consciousness in such a trans-humanistic, de-Natured world? I suppose the child will need to be a master of with-in which only comes from a parent who is aware.

    V, love ya man! Thanks for your continued posting and sharing. It’s been fun and enlightening lurking here for the past couple years. If you take money orders, I’d be interested in the book/dvd package. I may have missed this option….

    • March 30, 2012 4:58 am

      🙂 Glad you’ve been along for this journey Scout. Can you imagine what it has done to/for me? Awesome!

      And the Singularity? It’s much closer than you imagine and if I can help it, much smoother a transition than planned too.

      Ear to the ground, eye to the horizon!

Leave a Reply

