Skip to content

English, killer tongue…

May 31, 2013

Greeting,

Please, don’t care. Don’t care for me, don’t care for yourself. Don’t care for your family, your loved ones.

Don’t care about your health, your wealth, don’t care about this, that or anything at all.

DON’T CARE!

This cursed language, perhaps beautiful and awe-full in it’s origins, is now a mangled wrecker of mis-direction, cognitive-dissonance creation, madness generation…. it makes us do and be the very opposite of what we in-tend.

I thought I knew it well. Now, as I dig deeper, my tongue ties up, stumbles, trips on itself as the origin of the word, the spell-ing, cast out, impinges itself on my mind.

This is the word care, via etymology online…..

care (v.) Look up care at Dictionary.com
Old English carian, cearian “be anxious, grieve; to feel concern or interest,” from Proto-Germanic *karojanan (cf. Old High German charon “to lament,” Old Saxon karon “to care, to sorrow”), from the same source as care (n.). OED emphasizes that it is in “no way related to L. cura.” Related: Cared; caring.
Positive senses, e.g. “have an inclination” (1550s); “have fondness for” (1520s) seem to have developed later as mirrors to the earlier negative ones.
WHAAAAT? Mirrors to the earlier negative ones? Of course, Shakespeare was at play precisely in that time…. do you knwo who/what Shakespeare was? Therein lies the tell….
care (n.) Look up care at Dictionary.com
Old English caru, cearu “sorrow, anxiety, grief,” also “burdens of mind; serious mental attention,” from Proto-Germanic *karo (cf. Old Saxon kara “sorrow;” Old High German chara “wail, lament;” Gothic kara “sorrow, trouble, care;” German Karfreitag “Good Friday”), from PIE root *gar- “cry out, call, scream” (cf. Irish gairm “shout, cry, call;” see garrulous).

Different sense evolution in related Dutch karig “scanty, frugal,” German karg “stingy, scanty.” The sense development in English is from “cry” to “lamentation” to “grief.” Meaning “charge, oversight, protection” is attested c.1400, the sense in care of in addressing. To take care of “take in hand, do” is from 1580s.

UN-caringly….
😉
Vivek
12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2013 5:23 pm

    Aloha Dear One!

    SO glad you’re back to posting your diamond brilliance in words. I’ve missed you, and read everything, though usually don’t comment. I am content to lurk, basking in the Light.

    But Know, you always make me Think.

    Love!

    • May 31, 2013 5:41 pm

      Suzanne, you’ve been on my mind so much lately….big hugs and Aloha to you too… 🙂

  2. Justice Mk the explanationist, Anthologistic, linguistical mystic lyrical twisted cryptic critical misfit permalink
    May 31, 2013 6:06 pm

    Yep…. Vivek’s finally lost it =oO~
    Just kiddin my friend.

    You know… As language developed in my generation and part of the world when I say I dint care, I kind of mix it with the Jamaican Patois “mi nuh Bizniz” = me saying “I don’t business”

    Either way. I do hope all keep smiling….. For now at least, until the tables turn on that one to.

    Genuine Love to all reading

    Namaste

    • Justice Mk the explanationist, Anthologistic, linguistical mystic lyrical twisted cryptic critical misfit permalink
      May 31, 2013 6:16 pm

      Hold tight???? Is it what the words make?, or what you make of the words? Either way I currently think that words make what you make of them. Make what you want of my words but the intended tone of them you will never really know x I trust you trust me that the tone is of CARE towards you????

      LOL

      • May 31, 2013 6:27 pm

        🙂 a word is/was “born” something. that thing cannot leave it’s core, or the word dies……many dead words out there, they committed suicide like government victims, shot themselves twice in the back of their own heads….. try this one….

        https://aadivaahan.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/the-deep-perversion-of-language/

  3. Dublinsmick permalink
    June 1, 2013 7:48 am

    Vivek
    I wasn’t kidding about being a Hindu. You might remember back when the Satguru Maharaji Ji the 15 year old guru started divine light mission here in the states. Some friends and I joined up. I was about 26 at the time.

    I can still remember handing out leaflets in down town Atlanta explaining to people about the 15 year old master of the universe. Boy that didn’t go over well at all!

    A friend of mine became his body guard for years and he lived in an ashram also for many years. Many of our friends thought we must be on some kind of dope! We all went out to the Houston Astrodome with him. There were close to 50 thousand people there. It was wild, the Texas baptists were in the parking lot telling everyone we were the sons of satan!

    Nobody cared, we were “expanding our consciousness”

    http://maharajigospel.com/teachings/shrimaharaj.html

  4. Dublinsmick permalink
    June 2, 2013 6:54 am

    Those were great days, .. and now I have a tear in my eye brother.

    • June 2, 2013 7:07 am

      I spent a good part of last evening listening to his discourses and also to Osho…..very interesting.
      And there was a certain innocence in the air not 2-3 decades ago. Now it’s all blowing in the wind…. I hear you Dub…. all too well perhaps. I do hope we get to meet someday….

  5. Paul permalink
    June 2, 2013 1:28 pm

    I am thankful for those with tolerance. I appreciate those who accept and those who reject.
    I do not want to control the world or the universe but I can’t stand being controlled.
    I wish to live and maybe would enjoy living to love. But there must be balance.

    My main question is: Is it wrong to judge?

    Thoughtless x

    In addition. I can’t keep up….. I am not on the wavelength or level required of me for me to understand. Most of the stuff here really does go over my head. So I guess thank you to you for putting up with me.

    I’m not even smart enough to know how come when I post I have to do a new e-mail. It used to just come up with who I am automatically.

    All I wanted really was to help inspire peace, justice & Unity.

    Inner-tearfully yours.

    • June 3, 2013 3:49 am

      Paul, there are no answers. Only better and better questions. Till we come to the Question that has no answer at all. and while we might believe ourselves unable to understand answers, we can all ask better questions.
      You do in-spire even as you do and therefore will ex-pire.
      The key is to ride the waves with elegance and grace Brother…. 🙂

      • Paul permalink
        June 6, 2013 6:15 am

        Thanks Vivek.

  6. Dublinsmick permalink
    June 2, 2013 7:58 pm

    I would enjoy that Vivek. Right now I have noticed one side of my thyroid has slightly swelled, so I am eating sea weed. I don’t know if it is the corexit from gulf, smart meters, chemtrails, or GMO slipping by in some form of food! Could be plutonium from Fukushima blowing all over the place also.

Leave a Reply

