Skip to content

Journey, Trip, Pictures, words…thousands of them….

September 28, 2013

Greetings,

Bangalore to New Delhi in one of India’s quintessential experiences, the train journey.

And it was all that and more.

The people were mostly so uncomplicated, the train rocked (literally), the sensation of the better part of half the length of this huge landmass having rolled under you, the sights of endless greenery, fields, simple folk, jungles, vast open spaces, no overcrowding, no trash, then the cities, each “station”‘s approach brought the garbage, the smells, the stagnant waters, the de-humanizing life lived by so many on the edge, literal and figurative, of our cities, the rag-pickers….the faceless ones sitting on railway station benches, watching how many steel wheels clack by, the vendors, the sense of urgency, then back to rolling greens, bullock carts, my co-passenger on his samsung galaxy note III…yes, III, whatsapping and facebooking for 30 of the 36 hours, the terrible railway food served by the sweetest, simplest folk, the chance,  mind-boggling synchronicity of meeting two cool young guys in the smoking section, our worlds connected in the most un-expected and intimate of ways…the weird juxtaposition of being in an air conditioned box, looking out at what looked like authentic freedom, the random, illegal alighting from the train in the middle of now-here, and wanting to just walk away into the forest, the rough yanking of my toes at 6 am for a cup of tea I never wanted (bad tea in India, how we have fallen!!!), then delhi……..I thought I’d let you see it caption free…the selfie’s are me in rasta mon mode 😉

DSC00081

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSC00082 DSC00083 DSC00086 DSC00087 DSC00088 DSC00090 DSC00091 DSC00092 DSC00093 DSC00095 DSC00096 DSC00097 DSC00098 DSC00099 DSC00100 DSC00101 DSC00102 DSC00103 DSC00104 DSC00105 DSC00106 DSC00107 DSC00110 DSC00111 DSC00112 DSC00113 DSC00114 DSC00115 DSC00116 DSC00117

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2013 5:32 pm

    Literally moved to tears by the momentary, overwhelming experience of Being there. I found myself suddenly not in my comfortable leather sofa, looking out at the sunrise over the Hawaiian ocean from my third floor nook, but instead on a clackety train, with smells and sights that seemed so familiar….Thank you for this Journey that you most eloquently and fully shared.

    I go today to take my children to visit a white Bengal tiger named Namaste, on his 15th birthday, at the Hilo zoo. He has been held in prison for his whole life, for the entertainment of people. I have very conflicted feelings, taking my children to this “celebration”. But, I shall let them make up their own minds.

    Because I took them to see the incredible documentary “Blackfish” (please, you must see it), I think I know what they will choose.

    • October 7, 2013 3:42 am

      Bigggg hugs to you Suzanne…..I hear your dilemma….interesting choices this world of duality presents to us…..

      Blackfish is on my list now… 🙂

  2. September 28, 2013 6:00 pm

    Vicarious travels and serendipitous connections flowing through your internet words and pictures…how you touch souls with your relentless desire to awaken us. Thank you Vivek, you are a wonderful entity in this crazy world. You certainly brighten mine.

    • October 7, 2013 3:42 am

      🙂

  3. Stephen permalink
    September 29, 2013 1:28 pm

    Thank You for sharing. Amazing diversity in India. This land of the profound and profane. The country is indeed metaphor for the entire earth experience. I think I will go do my morning TM meditation.

  4. September 30, 2013 12:52 am

    Beautiful pics..tells a story..truly authentic and eye opening for those of us who have never been to that part of the world. Looking forward to more posts and Godspeed to your next destination!

  5. September 30, 2013 1:49 am

    Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

