Skip to content

Limitations….

July 26, 2015

Greetings,

All my early life, I argued for my limitations. If not my own, then those of my circumstance.

If not circumstance then timing.

But there was this constant theme of “if only”…

Nothing really new here for any/many of us I am sure. By the time we are adults, the corrosive system that en-folds our “UP” bringing ensures that we feel less than we are and imagine ourselves to be far less capable than ANY GRAND DREAM that we can dream for ourselves.

This same core, downward thrust on the things we deeply are and an upward thrust on everything we are not, is the basis of this cognitively dissonate existence that most civilized and educated and mannered folks live.

This same “lack” had Jesus continuously tell his flock that they WERE JUST AS HE WAS and that he came with no special dispensation what so ever.

So many questions swirl around this festering issue.

The one that finally sinks most people is “Am I good enough” and the resultant, resounding NO that our training whispers (LOUDLY) in our inner ear.

Well, I’ll tell you what, THERE ARE NO LIMITS….

There are no natural limits on the human being. We are, for a reason or reasons that books and tomes have been written about, infinitely capable.

WE ARE DESIGNED TO TRANSCEND.

Didja get that?

WE ARE DESIGNED TO TRANSCEND.

And examples abound, in history and the present.

NO LIMITS, as proven by this man, Jeff Healy (what a fitting last name). Most of my metaphors are musical now-a-days as I am immersed in dis-covering my own limit-less-ness…

Let this late, great AND BLIND transcender of limitation be your hero for today….as a Guitar player myself, I can tell you that what he has done and how he plays is…..*no words*

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Hélène permalink
    July 26, 2015 9:43 pm

    Transcendant indeed! Fabulous video of a great musician and a great reminder that the inly limits are the ones we impose on ourselves. Thanks for sharing.

    • July 29, 2015 6:16 am

      🙂 A little Canadian pride there Helene and justifiably so!

  2. Dublinsmick permalink
    July 27, 2015 5:55 pm

    007 managed to change the header on both my blogs. I managed to get the old ones back but the color background is gone! Holy smoke batman!

  3. Robert Nowland permalink
    July 31, 2015 12:14 pm

    Jeff Healy is simply amazing….the transition of his hands to the various parts of the guitar, seamlessly, without any sight to guide him. For me this represents his incredible willpower…..to learn a skill like that must have been taxing, and frustrating, and incredibly rewarding when he
    “Got it” We truely are bound only by the shackles we put upon ourselves.

    • August 4, 2015 5:09 am

      I could not believe my eyes OR my ears the first time I saw him play (on line of course)….did not compute….and the depth…yes, I can imagine is moment of achieving “it”… 🙂 NO LIMITS!

Leave a Reply

